DREAM THEATER - Distance Over Time Track-By-Track: "Paralyzed" (Video)

February 13, 2019, 6 months ago

news heavy metal dream theater

DREAM THEATER - Distance Over Time Track-By-Track: "Paralyzed" (Video)

There is a palpable excitement level surrounding two-time Grammy-nominated and millions-selling progressive music titans, Dream Theater, and their upcoming 14th studio album, Distance Over Time, out on February 22nd via InsideOut Music.

In the new video below, John Petrucci and Mike Mangini discuss the album track, "Paralyzed":

“Paralyzed” is quintessential Dream Theater; a song that showcases the band’s unique ability to write memorable melodies backed with unique song structures and maestro-level musicianship all at a radio-friendly running time of 4:18. The song will be impacting Active Rock and Metal radio later this month. Wayne Joyner, who also imagined the clip for “Fall Into The Light”, created the animated video for the song, which can be seen below.

"The song is an introspective reflection on the negative impact that being obstinate or single-minded can have on important relationships,” explains guitarist John Petrucci.

Distance Over Time showcases a newfound creativity for Dream Theater while maintaining the elements that have garnered them devoted fans around the globe. The album also marks the first for the band’s new label InsideOutMusic / Sony Music.

The artwork was created by long-time cover collaborator Hugh Syme (Rush, Iron Maiden, Stone Sour). Distance Over Time was produced by John Petrucci, mixed by Ben Grosse and mastered by Tom Baker.

The latest addition to Dream Theater’s impressive catalog is now available for pre-order in various configurations here.

Distance Over Time will be available as:

- Standard CD Jewel Case
- Special Edition Digipak (incl. 1 bonus track)
- 180g Gatefold 2LP Edition (incl. 1 bonus track, an 8-page-LP-booklet & the entire album on CD)
- Ltd. Edition Artbook (incl. 1 bonus track, 5.1 mix with video animations, instrumental mixes & high res files of the album, stems for “Untethered Angel”, extended liner notes, additional artwork incl. photos from the writing session and additional video content), as
- Deluxe Collector’s Box Set (incl. lenticular cover card, Artbook, 180g 2 LP Gatefold Edition with exclusive artwork and exclusive white vinyl, exclusive picture 7”, 60 x 60 cm poster, 10 art cards, slipmat, patch, pin and a hand-numbered certificate of authenticity)
- Digital Album (incl. 1 bonus track)

Distance Over Time tracklisting:

"Untethered Angel"
"Fall Into The Light"
"Barstool Warrior"
"Room 137"
"At Wit’s End"
"Out Of Reach"
"Pale Blue Dot"
"Viper King" (Bonus Track)

Album teaser:

Dream Theater is also planning to hit the road in support of the new album. The Distance Over Time Tour of North America kicks off on March 20th in San Diego, CA. The tour will run for seven weeks before wrapping up in Mexico City on May 4th. Select European festival dates for the summer are already announced with more dates being added and announced in the near future. Information on tickets for all upcoming shows as well as VIP packages can be found here

(Photo - Mark Maryanovich)

Featured Audio

AFTERMATH - "Diethanasia" (The Label Group)

AFTERMATH - "Diethanasia" (The Label Group)

Featured Video

AFTERMATH Premieres "Temptation Overthrown"

AFTERMATH Premieres "Temptation Overthrown"

Latest Reviews